

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING WEDNESDAY 30 NOVEMBER 2022

MINUTES

Annual General Meeting (AGM) of members of the Australia Japan Society of NSW Incorporated, held at the Japan Foundation, Level 4, Park Central, Broadway on Wednesday 30 November 2022 at 6.00pm.

1. Attendees

Anita Byrnes (President)	Owen Johnstone-Donnet
Kimiyo Aizawa	Evelyn Killick
Yuko Chiwata	Leigh McClintock
Lachlan Commins	Michele Miller
Terry Crotty	Philip Mitchell
Veronica Crotty	Shinichi Murata
Gordon Davies	Masanori Ohtani
Luke Gardiner	Momoe Ohtani
Tim Griffiths	Naota Suzuki
Hiroki lijima	Teri Teramoto
Takako Ishige	Ben Trumbull

2. Welcome and Quorum

The President, Anita Byrnes, welcomed the members in attendance. With the required quorum of five (5) financial members being present the meeting was declared open.

She thanked the Japan Foundation for providing their premises to host the meeting and several events during the last year.

3. Apologies and proxies

Apology with Proxy – Richard Andrews nominating Evelyn Killick, Ian Stewart and Jiro Terada nominating the Chairman.

Apology without Proxy – Lindsay Clift, Christina Ditfurth, Peter Gibson, Richard Hughes, Taiki Ito and Chihiro Thomson.

4. Adoption of Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 24 November 2021

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the above meeting be accepted.



Moved Terry Crotty Seconded: Teri Teramoto

There was no business arising from the Minutes.

5. President's Report

The President thanked members for their ongoing support and commitment to the Society.

She mentioned the impact on Covid on the Society's activities, resulting in a mix of face-to-face and online events and meetings during the year.

Online events included:

- Ongoing Zoom culture series, with speakers on wagashi making, netsuke, and New Year ikebana
- Olympics trivia event in conjunction with JETAA (JET Alumni Association)
- Fireside chat with member Peter Gibson, going behind the scenes at the Olympics/Paralympics
- Author Libby Hathorn and illustrator Sadami Konchi talked about their children's book based on Basho's travels
- Member Chris Gallagher presented on his career as an English teaching specialist in Japan

The in-person events included the:

- New Members' Welcome event in March
- Bushwalk around the Manly Quarantine Station

Other in-person events included:

- Japanese-speaking evening Shaberanaito, a joint event with JETAA
- Former diplomat John Langtry spoke about the Australia-Japan security partnership in the regional context, and
- The annual signature event, the Student Awards Evening, held in May, which this year was expanded to include the University of Newcastle.

The President extended the appreciation of the Board to Consul-General Kiya Masahiko and thanked the Consul-General and his staff for their ongoing support. She also thanked the aligned organisations including the Japan Foundation, CLAIR, JCCI, JETAA and KPMG for their support throughout the year.

The President indicated membership remained strong and thanked members for their support throughout the year and for their participation in the events and activities throughout the year.

She thanked all Board members for providing their time voluntarily and for their individual contributions throughout the year.

The President indicated the goals for the years ahead include:



- Enhanced engagement with membership through among others, monthly communications and social media
- Specific initiatives aimed at corporate members, including a membership drive
- Maintaining and enhancing an active and engaging program of events, including new initiatives
- Maintaining and enhancing our connections and collaboration with a wide range of Japan-related groups in our region and beyond

RESOLVED that the President's Report to members be accepted.

Moved: Anita Byrnes Seconded: Tim Griffiths

6. Finance Report

Ben Trumbull presented the Report and provided an overview of the year's activities and the financial results. He indicated the Society had returned a small surplus for the year ended 30 June 2022.

RESOLVED that the Finance Report be adopted.

Moved: Ben Trumbull Seconded: Joy Yu

7. Special Resolution

Philip Mitchell provided a summary of the Special Resolution being put to members.

He indicated the commencement of the maximum 4 year term for Office Bearers would start following the vote, and if approved, would commence from the date of approval of the Special resolution.

The President held a vote on the adoption of the Special Resolution which was passed unanimously with no dissenting vote.

RESOLVED to adopt the Special Resolution following its endorsement by the members present.

Moved: Anita Byrnes Seconded: Terry Crotty

8. Election of Office Bearers and Ordinary Committee Members

The President indicated that 11 nominations had been received and the number of nominations had not exceeded the number of available positions. There being fewer nominations than the maximum permitted



under the Rules, the President declared that all following nominees were elected:

President:	Anita Byrnes
Vice President:	No nominations
Treasurer:	Ben Trumbull
Secretary/Public Officer:	Terry Crotty
Committee Members:	Kimiyo Aizawa, Lindsay Clift, Tim Griffiths, Michele Miller, Philip Mitchell, Masanori Ohtani, Teri Teramoto and Joy Yu.

The President thanked all Board Members for their ongoing support and activity.

9. **Presentations** - the President invited Consul Shinichi Murata and Hiroki Iijima to deliver individual speeches and presentations.

10. Other Business Raised by Members in Attendance

There being no other business the President thanked members for their attendance. The meeting closed at 7.00pm.

Signed as a true and correct record.

Anita Bymes

Anita Byrnes President

Date:January 20 2023.....

