

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING MONDAY 23 NOVEMBER 2020

MINUTES

Annual General Meeting (AGM) of members of the Australia Japan Society of NSW Incorporated, held via Zoom videoconference on Monday 23 November 2020 at 6.00pm.

1. Attendees via videoconference

Philip Mitchell (President)	Masanori Ohtani
Anita Byrnes	Momoe Ohtani
Terry Crotty	Ben Trumbull
Tim Griffiths	Diane Vukelic
Michele Miller	

2. **Welcome and Quorum**

The President, Philip Mitchell, welcomed the members in attendance. With the required quorum of five (5) financial members being present the meeting was declared open.

3. **Apologies and proxies**

Apology with Proxy - Ian Stewart. Proxy to the Chairman. Apology without Proxy - Teri Teramoto

4. Adoption of Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 25 November 2019.

RESOLVED that the minutes of the above meeting be accepted.

Moved Terry Crotty Seconded: Anita Byrnes

There was no business arising from the meeting.

5. **President's Report**

The President thanked members for their ongoing support and commitment to the Society. He also thanked the aligned organisations including the Japan Foundation, CLAIR, JCCI and JETAA for their support throughout the year.

The President noted the year had seen two main periods of activity - the pre-pandemic period and the period following the commencement of the pandemic impact. Each period had a range of events, however



the events delivered post the commencement of the pandemic have all been delivered online, using the Zoom platform.

The Society had continued its annual sponsorship of the Japanese Studies prize for outstanding students at six universities and also provided a \$1,000 donation to the Cowra Japanese Garden as a contribution to continue its operations.

The President extended the appreciation of the Board to Consul-General Kiya Masahiko and thanked the Consul-General and his staff for their ongoing support provided to the Society.

He acknowledged the very tragic loss of former AJS NSW President David Jacobs who passed away on 16 November 2020. The President reaffirmed the very strong mark and lasting impact on Australia Japan relations that David Jacobs had made.

He acknowledged Keiichi Tsuzurahara from KPMG who had stepped down from the role of Treasurer during the year and thanked him for his assistance to Ben Trumbull, the incoming Treasurer to take on the role.

The President thanked members for their great support throughout the year and thanked all Board members for providing their time voluntarily and for their individual contributions throughout the year.

RESOLVED that the President's Report to Members be accepted.

Moved: Philip Mitchell Seconded: Anita Byrnes

6. Finance Report

Ben Trumbull presented the report and provided an overview of the year's activities and the financial results. He indicated the Society had a small surplus of \$943.03 for the year which is in line with the Society's objective to at least break even in its operations. He indicated a positive balance sheet result with a reasonable asset base and a small liability component.

He thanked Keiichi Tsuzurahara for providing assistance in the handover of the Treasurer role.

RESOLVED that the Finance Report be adopted.

Moved: Ben Trumbull Seconded: Michele Miller



7. Election of Office Bearers and Ordinary Committee Members

The President indicated that 9 nominations had been received and the number of nominations had not exceeded the number of available positions. There being fewer nominations than the maximum permitted under the Rules, the President declared that all following nominees were elected:

President: Philip Mitchell
Vice President: Anita Byrnes
Treasurer: Ben Trumbull
Secretary/Public Officer: Terry Crotty

Committee Members: Tim Griffiths, Michele Miller, Masanori Ohtani, Teri Teramoto and Diane

Vukelic

The President thanked all Board Members for their ongoing support and activities.

8. Other Business Raised by Members in Attendance

Anita Byrnes provided an overview of the upcoming event featuring John McBride.

There being no other business the President thanked members for their attendance. The meeting closed at 6.12pm.

Signed as a true and correct record.

Philip Mitchell
Chairman

Date: